|  So not even FRANCIS uses the Marketplace?!! | CT in CT Sep 4, 2001 5:02 AM | | This was brought to my attention over in Passion, but I'm sure it's gonna make for an interesting back to workday discussion. Apparently, Francis Cebedo, the founder & Big Kahuna of mtbr.com, feels the need to sell his own bike parts on (FREE!) mountain biking related sites!
Francis Sellin' Crap on the rec.bicycles.marketplace!!!
Now I'm pretty sure I don't have to explain why this sucks, but in case the obvious is lost on a few of you, I'll lay it out! As a matter of principle he shouldn't be advertising his bike stuff ANYWHERE but on mtbr. In a very short time, the managers of this site have not only re-vamped the site graphics (which I and many, many others have serious issues with!) AND implimented a pay-to-play policy on the Marketplace side of the site (which I totally understand but think the new format is awful!). If Francis is to hold any credibility on his own site, how can he go and advertise his own bikes for sale on a FREE mountain bike forum?!! When others on this site have advocated doing the same thing or provided links to other free mountain biking sites, those posts have been quickly nuked! Wasn't he thinking that just MAYBE other mtbr users would see HIS name advertising on another site and think the whole thing looks a little two-faced?
Before anybody chimes in that it's his God-Given right to advertise his own property any way he sees fit, I respectfully say...CRAP! This would be the same thing as if the President of Ford were seen driving a Chevy in a parade through downtown Detroit! A business person, especially the HEAD of a company, should NEVER use a competing product, and certainly not as blatently as Francis appears to have done in this case! And his timing couldn't have been worse...what kind of a guy tries to impliment the changes mtbr is going through while going behind everyone's back and using a free site to sell his own stuff? If he truly feels that he's not gonna get enough hits on his own site, why in the name of all things warm & fuzzy wouldn't he have signed onto the other site by using a fictitious screen name?!!
This stinks, plain and simple! Francis pulled a major boner and should at least apologize for a serious error in judgement!
BeeT's |
|  AHAAAHAHHahahahaahaaa..... uugh. nm | pyg Sep 4, 2001 5:42 AM | | o;l |
|  Now I'm the last person who would defend him but........... | BMXman Sep 4, 2001 7:45 AM | | Are you sure that's him? I'm sure he's not the only one who could use that name. D |
|  It's him...a REVIEW site is hosting his pics! | fwiw-nm Sep 4, 2001 7:47 AM | | nm |
|  Well,.... that just fvcking blows....WTF......... | BMXman Sep 4, 2001 7:56 AM | | could he be any more hypocritical!!!! Someone's got some explaining to do. D |
|  I know someone says its mtbr hosting the pics BUT... | DeeEight Sep 4, 2001 8:45 AM | | has anyone verified that the yahoo email address is really the SAME francis cebedo as owns this site?!? MTBR will host pics for anyone who chooses to upload, for free, regardless of content (yes i've seen people post real porn this way on the message boards - quickly deleted when noticed of course). Which reminds me, why don't people have to pay to upload pics? Shouldn't they have to pay for the use of mtbr's bandwidth and webspace? As to the rest of brad's comments, I agree with him. |
|  I know someone says its mtbr hosting the pics BUT... | you are an idiot DeeEight Sep 4, 2001 9:05 AM | | Pay to post???? god you just spout moronic sh!t everyday. oh and look at the pics, you will notice that there is a sign with all of the review.com sites on it. Person go the office take some pics then post them just to fool people.
please stop posting I want to thwow up every time I read your geek a$$ posts |
|  I guess its too much to hope for that you'll choke on... | DeeEight Sep 4, 2001 10:44 AM | | your own vomit then and stop whining about my posts. If you don't like reading my posts, DON'T CLICK ON THEM. It doesn't take rocket science here to avoid clicking on a message. Or do you just like having your own stupidity pointed out to you? |
|  Yeah...right...it's all a BIG conspiracy! | CT in CT Sep 4, 2001 9:53 AM | | You really need to get your beak outta the spy novels! Do you honestly think somebody took the time to make up a FAKE Francis profile, create a fake e-mail account, post four separate ads for a bike and various parts, and post corresponding photographs on mtbr, to just sit back to see Francis get called a dick?!!
You're (Oops...sorry, so you can understand I'll spell it YOUR!) an idiot!
BeeT's |
|  Then why didn't francis use one of his mtbr email accounts? | DeeEight Sep 4, 2001 10:41 AM | | He has his own mail server afterall. He might as well make use of it. Answer that one genius. |
|  God | your (sic) stupid Sep 4, 2001 12:00 PM | | So it doesn't show an MTBR address, maybe? You are a complete moron. |
|  he posted the same stuff on the marketplace | Regder Sep 4, 2001 11:57 AM | | probably just trying to get as much visibility as possible |
|  See...ya missed the point! | CT in CT Sep 4, 2001 2:22 PM | | I know he's trying to get the greatest bang for his advertising buck, my point is he SHOULDN'T be advertising on OTHER montain biking sites, especially FREE sites, since he has imposed a pay-per-play policy on the Marketplace! He should be setting an example tothe rest of the mtbr world that the mtbr marketplace is the ONE place to advertise, and THAT'S why you are hit with a $3.00 charge!!!
It's all very duplicitous!
BeeT's |
|  I have to agree..that's just common sense. nm | BMXman Sep 4, 2001 7:31 PM | | nm |
|  I agree, and marketplace chgs suk - He obv. thinks so 2! | 2WS Sep 4, 2001 9:35 PM | | Your points are right on. |
| |