Product Reviews | Trail Reviews | Classifieds | Hotlinks | Forums | Races & Events | Gallery | Hot Deals
Home | Forums


MountainBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Where are the Best Deals


Archive Home >> Where are the Best Deals(1 2 3 4 )


Anyone see this site for Oakley sunglasses? $50.00 a pair!(13 posts)

Anyone see this site for Oakley sunglasses? $50.00 a pair!RootDown
Jul 23, 2002 5:22 AM
http://www.rayban-sunglasses-oakley.com/
$50.00 bucks for any pair of Oakleys. The only catch being it might take 3 months to get, but they say it usually takes less than a month?

Almost sounds to good to be true. With all the fake Oakleys (Foakleys) out there, I was just wondering if anyone new about this site or has ordered from them before. thanks!
re: Anyone see this site for Oakley sunglasses? $50.00 a pair!fishandmtb
Jul 23, 2002 5:35 AM
Thanks for the link. It looks too good to be true - and you know what they say, if it sounds too good to be true .....
Looks way too good to be true, but...upNdown
Jul 23, 2002 7:29 AM
If you pay with a decent credit card, aren't you usually protected from any sort of fraud. But I'm going to have to check my card and see how long you have to file that sort of claim. His 1-3 months shipping policy may be in place just to avoid such claims.
A pair of racing jackets for $50 just seems too good to be true.
Dont order these unless you want to kiss $50 goodbyemarty
Jul 23, 2002 10:31 AM
This has to be a scam...Metroid
Jul 23, 2002 11:25 AM
There is no way in hell I would give my credit card number, wire money or send cash to some "too-good-to-be-true" website from Croatia. They could be selling Ellsworths for $50 and I wouldn't do it. They probably take your number and go shopping on eBay with it.
Notice the e-mail has a @___.hr (nm)Gakster
Jul 24, 2002 9:57 AM
.
i just emailed oakley to see if they're legitimate resellermergs
Jul 23, 2002 1:57 PM
i'll reply when i get a reply

bet you an ellsworth its complete crap.
Of course they're not a legitimate Oakley reseller, did you readupNdown
Jul 24, 2002 10:46 AM
Did you read the site? The guy claims to scour the globe for failed businesses and buys their Oakley (and rayban) inventories from them. So by his own admission, he's not getting his inventory from Oakley.

It's almost the perfect scam, as far as I can tell. He offers you world class glasses for less than half price, and then offers a believable story as to how he can do that. He warns you that it could take up to 3 months for shipping, but then makes it more attractive by saying it usually only takes one. I'll bet he's gambling that after 3 months, either it's to late claim fraud or the consumer will think its too late, or they'd rather write off a $50 loss than admit they were stupid enough to believe something that was too good to be true.

Then again, maybe he's legitimate. Anybody want to pay $50 to find out?
nope! i don't have you're attention span to read that farmergs
Jul 24, 2002 2:16 PM
but i did email oakley
Probably legit... but....Chip
Jul 23, 2002 2:34 PM
it says in the store policies that it takes the glasses 30-90 days to be delivered. That's a red flag right there.
REI Outlet has some Oakleys at discounted pricestl1
Jul 23, 2002 3:54 PM
http://rei-outlet.com/cgi-bin/rei/searchc.pl?stat=8265&query=Oakley&x=18&y=13
Oakley says its bull$hitmergs
Jul 24, 2002 2:17 PM
Here's the reply I got:

Dear Jeff,

Thank you for your email. This web site is currently under investigation for fraudulent activities. We strongly recommend against making any purchases from this site as you will most like not receive anything nor get your money back. Thank you for your support!

Sincerely,
EJ
Thanks mergs!RootDown
Jul 25, 2002 6:36 AM
 


 MtbREVIEW.com  RoadbikeREVIEW.com  OutdoorREVIEW.com
 PhotographyREVIEW.com  VideogameREVIEW.com  ComputingREVIEW.com
 AudioREVIEW.com  CarREVIEW.com  GolfREVIEW.com
Copyright ©1996-2008 All Rights Reserved.ConsumerREVIEW.com, a division of E-centives, Inc.